Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Business Award Named for Freeholder Director Palmer

Post Date:05/17/2017 9:34 AM
NJAC Names Business Award for Freeholder Peter Palmer

Pictured left to right are NJAC Immediate Past President and Hunterdon County Freeholder John King, Freeholder Palmer, NJAC Executive Director John Donnadio, NJAC President and Gloucester County Freeholder Heather Simmons, and NJAC Secretary/Treasurer and Hunterdon County Clerk Mary Melfi.

The New Jersey Association of Counties has named its business associate of the year award in honor of Somerset County’s freeholder director.

The naming of the Peter S. Palmer Business Associate of the Year award recognizes the longtime freeholder’s “tireless dedication and commitment to NJAC and county government,” according to NJAC Executive Director John G. Donnadio. The award this year went to Primepoint, a human resource and payroll management company.

“I would certainly not be in this position if it were not for him, and I’m not sure where NJAC would be if it were not for his leadership and integrity while serving as president of the association during a difficult time,” Donnadio said.

"We all know politics, and how polarized it has become. Peter is one of those elected officials who transcends party and becomes a statesman – to Democratic, Republican and Independent voters alike,” said Somerset County Freeholder Brian D. Levine. “I am proud to have been his running mate. He will be missed on the freeholder board, but I know he will continue his public service unabated."

Palmer joined the Somerset County Board of Chosen Freeholders in 1997, after serving on the Bernardsville Borough Council for 17 years and then 10 years as the town’s mayor. Currently he is chairman of the North Jersey Transportation Planning Authority and the Raritan Valley Rail Coalition. He was NJAC’s board president in 2010. His 55 years of public service also include seven years with the Bernardsville Board of Education, starting in 1962. He plans to retire from his freeholder post at the end of this year.

Return to full list >>